Eye injury part four

Posted on Updated on

so, Iv been detailing my recent corneal abrasion

Part one here.
Part two here.

Part three here.
As you’ll read, I’m healed over and pretty much back to normal, with seemingly a slight reduction in distance- which given my current short sightedness after a few feet is probably going to cause problems many years from now. However, despite this ‘healing’ I’m still feeling pain. Suddenly increases in light hurt more than before, and there’s a regular itchiness to it.

The itchiness I’m putting down to potential scar tissue on the cornea, and I should probably be using my eye drops more frequently- prescribed four times a day but to use as much as I need to. My worry is it’s going to be one of those things that’s continued use creates a need for permanent use- such as lip balm.

The bigger worry is of course the light sensitivity. Of course eyes don’t like sudden increases in light, but the pain increase seems a worry. However, I’m beginning to suspect it’s psychological more than physical. Every time the boy approaches my face I tense, and fingers cause a recoil. There’s no real need as generally speaking the chances of damage are minimal, yet I’m naturally defensive of the eye- and certainly more aware of the potential for harm. With this in mind I can only assume the squinting and recoiling from bright lights are also due to a natural defensiveness.

I have an appointment in ten days (which it was implied I could cancel) but if the light sensitivity is still there I plan to attend in order to confirm no issue.