Holiday in Cardiff day three Wee man shopping

Posted on Updated on

Day one here

Day two here

so, today I have a headache, I can’t decide if it’s a hangover or just a headache from the oven like room we’re staying in. I suspect it’s a hangover further exacerbated by being in an oven like room, as well as oversleep from nor being disturbed during the night by kids at home, or drunks in the hotel.  That and the 9% beer from last night.

The sleep was far more peaceful (not being the weekend I suspect the hen parties have gone home), though I woke at six and couldn’t sleep, getting through another chapter of my book- it’s starting  to drag a little now.

Rox is currently showering in a weird cripple shower in advance of trying again with harvester for breakfast.

 

Weird cripple shower that apparently floods the entire bathroom 

So today harvester was able to provide breakfast (presumably the bank holiday Monday was a minor issue), we were greeted by a gormless miserable waitress who seated us and let us stuff ourselves 

 

  

  

 

At this point rox went dress shopping and I popped to a few of my favourite shops for a browse. Now, of course browsing is one thing, not spending money completely another so I ended up picking up some bits 

From cardiff games workshop, the final end times book.

 

  Having just finished the second, the chance to get them all in hard back was too good to resist- even if they’ll be on ebay once I’m through them.

From firestorm games, the batman miniatures rulebook and Alfred model

 

I haven’t played the game yet, but the models look cool and it’s gaining momentum in my local gaming club.

And finally from rules of play, a ship missing from my x wing collection

 

 

I had gone in just to browse the games we’d played Last night and price them up, but couldn’t resist picking up a ship that I know will soon be out of stock for six months.

Back in the hotel now and I’m back onto the book whilst rox snores off her morning exertions. I soon got bored of reading whilst she snored so headed down to the bar for a quick drink before waking her.

 

Three pints later (oops) I wake her and we get ready to go for dinner. We had some vouchers after a disappointed meal at bella Italia, and we’re able to use them at cafe rouge- the location for one of our very first dates.

So a bottle of wine ordered we get to eating, starting with a sharing platter and taster bowl of snails. I’d had them before, but only from lidl so it was nice to try them ‘properly.’

 

  

  

Next up was sea bass with tomatoes and sugarsnaps. Unfortunately a mini crisis in the phone from my mum meant I forgot to get the picture at the start of the meal 

 

Finally desert, I wasn’t keen on sugar so went for the cheese plate, which is something I’m definitely going to do more often 

 

 

From here we had planned to go to crazy golf, but misjudged the opening (by about a week) so instead headed into a former regular haunt of mine- the live lounge.

Boy was I in for a shock, having been here numerous times it was strange to the the average age of patrons being about 35-40 with some people far in advance of that. Still it was nice to sit and listen to some live music whilst being entertained by the oddballs and old people trying to interact with women half (or more) their age.

Back in the hotel and I feel a little drunk- probably a mix of beer, white and red wine, lager and cocktails not mixing pleasantly for me. 

2 thoughts on “Holiday in Cardiff day three Wee man shopping

    […] Holiday in Cardiff day three Wee man shopping April 9, 2015 […]

    […] Holiday in cardiff d… on Holiday in Cardiff day three W… […]

Leave a Reply

