Life, a rough night-stacked exhaustion

Posted on Updated on

So, last night was a tough one. Iv not had a decent night sleep in years- as I mentioned- but the last week or so has been worse than normal, with the boy teething and me generally not sleeping, last night was a whole new level.

Before bed I put the recycling outside for collection, at which point my knee gave way launching me out the front door, down the steps and face first into the road. I had thrown the recycling across the road and my entire right side was sore- where my arms had been full of recycling I’d landed on my shoulder, hip and ankle rather than being able to catch myself on my hands. Despite this incredible pain i feel i was actually quite lucky as no bones broke and no skin either.
I hobble up to bed and crawl in, whereupon i quickly fall asleep (the last few weeks have made it very easy to fall asleep), half an hour later the rain smashing against the window wakes me, and my bladders shouting for attention, so I hobble back downstairs and empty it. On my return the boys awake so I settle him down and crawl back into bed.

Close my eyes

Drifting

Drifting

Nope, awake.

I stare at the ceiling for half an hour, at which point i decided I need to get up, so I pull some clothes on, walk outside to the car with the intention of moving it (it’s currently parked in the doctors surgery and needs moved before they open). Annoyingly in the time it takes me to get into the car and start it another car has pulled into the space i had planned to take, this is very annoying, it being late night and everyone should be in bed. So I give up, head back inside and crawl into bed.

Close my eyes,

Drifting,

Drifting,

Nope, awake.

I stare at the ceiling, I stare at the wall, i stare at my partners back, I listen to her snoring heavily, I resettle the boy again, i stare at the wall, I lie face down, I stare at the ceiling, I cuddle my partner, I go for a week I stare at the wall.
I pick up my ipad, it’s 130, so I run through the various games and facebooks and websites i frequent. At 2am I settle myself back down,

Close my eyes,

Drifting,

Drifting,

Waaaaaaaaagh!

The boys awake, typical, I settle him back down and get back into bed, my partner starts talking nonsense at me- she does this a lot, especially when she’s asleep. I listen for a minute before her snores kick in again. One last check of emails, Facebook etc and at 3am settle down to sleep.

5am, the boy gets resettled.
6am, the girls in with a wet bed. I get up, dry bed, go downstairs, dry pyjamas, she gets cheeky and rude and is told off and sent back upstairs, when I get up there’s a ‘new’ wet patch on her bed, she’s either spat or dribbled on purpose. More cheekiness and lying and she’s told off and put to bed. Her screams wake her brother and mum (must have been loud) who settles them both down.

I settle back into bed,

Close my eyes,

Drifting,

Drifting,

“Mummy, can I read”
“Ask daddy?”
“Daddy….”
“YES!”

I close my eyes,

Drifting,

Drifting

“Daddy can I let my brother out of his room”
“No”

Drifting,

Drifting,

“If you get the boy and change his bum I’ll take him downstairs”
“Oh lovely”

One full pooey nappy later both kids are running around screaming whilst mum has dozed back off. She gets up and takes them downstairs.

Drifting,

Drifting,

BANG!

The stair gate, mums brought me some tea.

I need it.

Now, I am fully accepting of the fact that as a parent it’s my job to be exhausted until they move out, and as a carer I can understand that I’m going to be tireder than most, but right now I feel like a corpse.

I guess that’s why they say ‘sleep when you’re dead’

Leave a Reply

