Life, bowling and a career threatening wii elbow injury

Posted on Updated on

So, we took the kids bowling today, the boys first time, and our first since my partner was pregnant (so his second time I guess, I don’t remember him pushing any balls last time).
How’d we do? Well, I came last. This isn’t something that happens to me, I can’t remember ever coming last at bowling, it was made all the more humiliating by my partners sudden patch of form midway through the frame (a spare followed by a strike) at the same time as i rolled 5 consecutive zeros. Not good at all, because she normally sucks. I’m fairly sure it’s the crutch that helped her balance as she threw.

Whilst bowling, I felt a niggle in my elbow, which I promptly ignored until my next ball when it became a pain, lots of pain. Cue my five zero balls, until it numbed up enough for me to play catch up. Typically all I needed was one more round to catch the children- who drew- and one more beyond that to catch my partner who had returned to her usual level of ability.

So where did this pain come from? Well, from owning a wii. We got one some years ago now around Christmas and had some fun with it; enough that we planned a friends and family evening on New Years ever to play around. Me being home for the week with little money and few contacts meant I had time to play, so I mastered it. Wii bowling, I found the perfect arm swing and arrow position for a strike 9/10 times.
When New Year’s Eve comes around, midway through the frame I’m way out in front with a near perfect score, I step up again to banter, swearing and drunken revelry, pull my arm back, swing and CRUNCH!!! I feel something pop/ tear/ explode in my left elbow, I screw the swing and gutter the ball.
I still won, but only barely as I was forced to switch to my weaker right hand- which I’d neglected to practice with.

Since that day the bowling ‘pose’ – more specifically the arm movement- triggers the same pain. I can only assume it was a form of repetitive strain injury that I pushed too far and did something real to.

It now acts as my permanent bowling reminder of me cheating at the wii.

Leave a Reply

